IIT Kanpur transferred advanced technology of Oxygen concentrator to Bengaluru based manufacturer


Kanpur August 17– Indian Institute of Technology (IIT K) developed an advanced Oxygen Concentrator equipped with PSA Technology, in order to reach the commercial scale and benefit the public, the technology has been transferred and licensed to a Bengaluru based company,Albot Technologies Pvt. Ltd.

Anticipating the third wave of COVID pandemic and to maintain an adequate supply of oxygen, inventors developed this advanced oxygen concentrator and named it as “Sanjeevani”, with an aim to ensure sufficient supply and prevent future oxygen crisis.

The oxygen concentrator works at a flow rate of 10 LPM withan oxygen purity of 92% ± 3, the concentrator has an adjustable capacity of 1 to 10 LPM, which can be used for both medical as well as personal uses.

The concentrator is developed by a team involving Prof. J. Ramkumar from Department of Mechanical Engineering, Mr. Siddhanth Srivastava PhD student, Mr. Jitendra Kumar, Dr. Amandeep Singh Oberoi, Mr. Rupendra Aryal and Mr. Nitin Chaukhat.

During the ceremony Prof. Abhay Karandikar, the Director of IIT Kanpur briefed the gathering about the several ongoing projects at IIT Kanpur, He also apprised them about the ongoing progress of School of Medical Research and Technology at IIT Kanpur, which will house 400 patient bed hospital in the campus, and emphasized that R&D activity of the school shall promote research leading to development of innovative and cost effective medical devices.

Professor In-Charge of Innovation and at IIT Kanpur Prof. Amitabha Bandyopadhyay mentioned that the incubator of IIT Kanpur is actively working with several stakeholders for expediting the medical device development ecosystem in the country, including Yamuna expressway development authority and some international partners.

The MOU Exchange ceremony, which took virtually, began with a brief welcome and introduction from Prof. Abhay Karandikar, Director of IIT Kanpur and Mr. Akash Singh, CEO of Albot Technologies, the ceremony was also joined byProf. Amitabha Bandyopadhyay, Prof. AR Harish and Mr. Ravi Pandey from IIT Kanpur.