IIT Kanpur celebrated 64 Foundation Day


Kanpur, November 3: The Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IITK) celebrated 64th Foundation Day on November 2 with great enthusiasm.

The celebrations began with the lighting of lamp by Prof. S. Ganesh, Officiating Director, IIT Kanpur in the presence of Prof. Kantesh Balani, Dean of Resources and Alumni office (DoRA), IIT Kanpur; Dr. Nishanth Nair, Dean of Digital Infrastructure and Automation; and Officiating Dean of Faculty Affairs, IIT Kanpur; and Mr. Kapil Kaul, CEO IIT Kanpur Development Foundation, among other dignitaries.

Prof. S. Ganesh, Officiating Director, IIT Kanpur felicitating Chief guest Dr. Abhay Karandikar, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology and former Director of IIT Kanpur during the 64th Foundation of IIT Kanpur

Dr. Abhay Karandikar, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology and former Director of IIT Kanpur graced the event as the distinguished Chief Guest.

Celebrations started on Wednesday with ‘Antarang’,a vibrant cultural program presented by the students of IIT Kanpur. An exhibition by the APPROACH cell (Appreciation and Promotion of Art, Culture and Heritage), IIT Kanpur, was further elevated with the traditional lighting of the lamp, symbolizing the start of a significant gathering.

The cultural program started off with a classical dance performance by a team of girl students of the institute.

The evening culminated with a mesmerizing Kathak recital by Rajendra Gangani, a leading exponent of the Jaipur Gharana style of Kathak and recipient of the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award for his contributions to the field of Kathak.

On the occasion, Prof. S. Ganesh, Officiating Director, IIT Kanpur delivered the welcome address and highlighted key achievements and future prospects of the institute in the field of research and academia.

He also spoke about the establishment of The Mehta Family Centre for Engineering in Medicine, plan for a School of Sustainability, and the recent collaboration with the Kalyan Singh Super Specialty Cancer Institute.

“The 64th Foundation Day is a celebration of our journey from inception to the impactful institution IIT Kanpur has grown into today. It was especially a happy moment to welcome as Chief Guest, our former Director, Dr. Abhay Karandikar who is now the Secretary, Department of Science and Technology. As we celebrate this day and honour our alumni and other awardees, the institute is committed to striving harder for enriching research and development across sectors, and nurturing talents that can make a global impact,” said Prof. S. Ganesh.

Dr. Abhay Karandikar, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology and former Director of IIT Kanpur, said, “This day instils immense pride and brings back fond memories as we reflect on the institute’s journey in the fields of education, science, and technology. It has been a journey of continuous development, learning, and unwavering commitment to the highest values and mission. IIT Kanpur, through collaboration, scholarships, and global recognition, has carved a significant place in the landscape of innovation. I’m delighted to be part of this occasion and I congratulate all the awardees.”

A total of 22 recipients were honored across various categories, which included Distinguished Alumnus Awards Institute Fellows, Distinguished Service Awards, Young Alumnus Awards, and the Satyendra K. Dubey Memorial Award.

The Distinguished Alumnus Awards were given to 12 alumni, including Chief Secretary of Uttar Pradesh, Durga Shanker Mishra , Anup Bagchi, Managing Director and CEO of ICICI Prudential Life Insurance, Rajnish Kumar, Group CPTO and Co-founder of ixigo.com,and Anil Bansal, President of First National Realty Management and a Board Member of the Indo American Arts Council.

Prof. Deepak Kunzru, Dean, Graduate School and Research and Distinguished Professor at Ahmedabad University, Prof. Achla M. Raina, former professor in Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, IIT Kanpur, Rakesh Gangw…